Call one of the Register of Deeds offices below to double-check the current situation.
You'll need a license from a Register of Deeds Office in a South Dakota county. They can be purchased from any Register of Deeds at any courthouse in South Dakota, and used to get married anywhere in the state.
A South Dakota marriage license costs $40. Some offices accept only cash and possibly travelers checks.
Register of Deeds offices:
Sturgis - 1425 Sherman St (605) 347-2356
Rapid City - 315 St. Joseph St (605) 394-2177
Deadwood - 78 Sherman St (605) 578-3930
Custer - 420 Mount Rushmore Rd (605) 673-2784
For identification you'll need either a driver's license or a certified copy of a birth certificate.
There is no blood test or waiting period.
Those 16 and 17 must have parental consent. South Dakota law does not permit marriage of those under 16.
The marriage must be performed within 20 days from the purchase of the license.
Once you are married, the person who married you must return the license to the Register of Deeds within 10 days. If not, there will be no record of your marriage.